“Gethsemane moments” bring God’s Presence closer

GethsemaneInside the Basilica of AgonyHaZeytim, Garden of GethsemaneWhen Jesus taught his disciples about praying he said, “…go into your room, close the door and pray to God who is unseen” (Mtt. 6:6). He too practiced that because he often withdrew from the crowds to a private place to pray. While some understand “your room” in a spiritual sense, it is, nevertheless, to be understood physically.

My most memorable and inspiring moments when I lived in Jerusalem were those times of solitude in the Garden of Gethsemane. Whether I was sitting under the shade of one of the two thousand year old olive trees or simply on a rock, or on a pew in the Basilica of Agony, I could feel surrounded by the presence of God.

I mentioned previously that most people seek God’s presence in times of sorrow or difficulties, and I am one of them. Often those were the times that sent me to Gethsemane, and there I felt completely loved, reassured and at peace. I felt rejuvenated and reinvigorated. Even today, when I bring my memory back to those moments, I still experience the Presence of God in a very special way.

That was my special experience; and everyone has or has had a special experience. I have also mentioned in previous posts that every life experience has a purpose, and the purpose is transformation. Actually, transformation is an encounter with God; the connection with the authentic and inner self ,or the soul.

Find or create that room that can serve as a reminder of your “Gethsemane moments” or the Garden of Gethsemane itself and experience God’s Presence.

Leave a Reply

